Author Topic: Basics - Formatting  (Read 1148 times)

Writer Arena

• Administrator
Basics - Formatting
« on: August 21, 2013, 09:53:06 PM »
This is a thread containing information related to formatting screenplays.

Alex

• SubAdmin
  • One Stressed Pussy
    • Alex Sarris - Screenwriter
Re: Basics - Formatting
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2013, 10:36:06 PM »
Hey guys,

When I first started screenwriting, the first thing I read up about was formatting, as you can't have a script without it. It is the basis of any screenplay.

Many experienced screenwriters won't read your screenplay if the basic format is incorrect.

There are many software packages that automatically create the format for you as well as giving you many options to alter the format to suit Features, TV Sitcoms or plays. The most popular of these programs is Final Draft and it has become an Industry standard and essential for any would be screenwriter.

As a beginner, I found this site invaluable. http://www.storysense.com/format.htm
You can flip from page to page to gain some great information.

Enjoy.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2013, 10:44:20 PM by Alex »
----------------------------------------------------
It takes 15 years to be an "Overnight Success"

CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS ABOUT ME.
----------------------------------------------------
It takes 15 years to be an "Overnight Success"

CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS ABOUT ME.

Mr. Blonde

• Sentence
  • The Bishop of Battle
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2013, 01:24:02 PM »
Even if you don't have (or use) that type of software, there's plenty of information online about the exact margins when it comes to where goes where. It's a pain in the ass, but you'll get it right. Then again, you could also do Celtx or download a Word screenwriting template. In other words, there's no real excuse to not have at least the basic formatting down. Same with pdfs as those have gone entirely mainstream and almost everything can use them.