Author Topic: I'm running dry on ideas  (Read 829 times)

Daniel Botha

• Yes, I have four faces.
  • Global Moderator
I'm running dry on ideas
« on: June 08, 2013, 03:34:31 PM »
The heading of this thread is easily one of the things that, as a writer, I fear more than anything else. Some may argue that it's all a part of the writing process and your growth as a writer... In my opinion, it's an issue that forces a writer to question their ability to come up with decent ideas and to question whether they really are doing the write thing (pun intended, as crappy as it may be).

Folks, I have writer's block and I haven't got the faintest idea of how to get out.

The weird thing is, my writer's block doesn't come down to the fact that I've run out of ideas altogether. I actually come up with ideas all the time... I just don't get the feeling that any of them are good... Correction... I know none of them are good.

I've always been a writer who lets ideas hit me suddenly, rather than going looking for any. Inspiration eventually comes, sometimes in ridiculous situations. However, having run dry for a few months, do I need to start looking, or do I continue to wait for ideas to hit me?

Those who have gone through writer's block, how does this damn thing work?

Dan

Writer Arena

• Administrator
Re: I'm running dry on ideas
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2013, 03:41:26 PM »
Write down all your ideas, crazy or not.  Keep it in a file.  Next time you run dry, go through the file.  Some of those bad ideas may not seem so bad at a later look and they may even stir up some new ideas.   

Alex

• SubAdmin
  • One Stressed Pussy
    • Alex Sarris - Screenwriter
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2013, 05:17:32 PM »
Write down all your ideas, crazy or not.  Keep it in a file.  Next time you run dry, go through the file.  Some of those bad ideas may not seem so bad at a later look and they may even stir up some new ideas.