Author Topic: Which Films helped to shape your life?  (Read 469 times)

Mac

• Punctuation
  • A canny feeling like I've never done this before.
Which Films helped to shape your life?
« on: October 14, 2013, 04:53:04 AM »
 I think about this from time to time since one film in particular has guided my life. I guess not guided per se' but... more so has inspired my life. I have several films in mind that have made an impact on my psyche thus changing my life's direction significantly.

No-one would ever guess my favorite all-time movie without me telling them which and why. "The Rocky Horror Picture Show".
Not because I can relate to Transylvanian Transvestites or because I'm a bad-boy loner with tasty thighs, but because of a subliminal message at the end of the movie that cant be more than 6 frames long. In fact, this message has been parsed from the movie in editing for different formats along the way. I'm not sure you can even find a version today that includes it.
 At the end of the film, right before the credits it states, "Dont' Dream it, Be it"
 Ive said that to myself several times over the years and it has always served me well.

My second favorite, but in close contention for first is "Forest Gump". I consider it romantic if you can believe that.

In 1992 I got out of the Naval Submarine force and was living in Savannah, Georgia. I had my eye on a beautiful and exotic Barista that worked in the downtown historical district. I visited her daily and we talked of many things. She, mostly of American things since she was a new transplant to the U.S. and had many questions and I, about her life and homeland.
 One day she showed me a flyer that was being tacked on every window in downtown Savannah. It stated that many streets would be closed on certain dates for the filming of "Forest Gump". She asked me what these words meant and what this was. I of course had no idea either since gump isnt a word and putting forest in front of it didnt change that fact.